Wednesday, August 31, 2011

The English Mansion

The English Mansion is located in the only residential historic district in Sioux City, Iowa, called Rose Hill Historic District. It is one of the largest and best preserved homes of its style.

Chronology:
1894 - Designed by architect William McLaughlin, Elzy G. Burkham had the home built. The original address was 1449 Douglas.

After 1894 - The address is changed to 1525 Douglas.

1897 - The house is sold to Jacob Stackerl.

1913 - Catherine Stackerl, daughter of Jacob married Odil English and inherited the home. This is where the mansion got its name.

1994 - The mansion is bought by George and Cynthia Wakeman and opened a bed and breakfast.

1995 - George and Cynthia turned the mansion into a bed and breakfast.

1998 - The English Mansion is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

2005 - The Wakeman's closed the bed and breakfast and reclaimed the restored mansion as their personal home.

The architectural style involves more than one type. Colonial Revival, Queen Anne, Romanesque and Rococo Richardsonian.

The interior boasts 7 original untouched hand painted murals, original woodwork. pocket doors, original front stair case, fluted columns and a conservatory room on the south side of the house.

The mansion has 3 floors. The third floor has a beautiful ballroom. There are 5 bed rooms and 3 baths on the second floor. The master suite has its own private bath. The lower level has a 6th bed room and a bath, full kitchen and the conservatory.

Some notable exterior features are the first floor arch windows, decorative foliate detailing over the front porch and conservatory and fluted ionic columns. The original carriage house is now attached to the house with a covered porch or breeze way and used as a garage.

Photos:





























































































Video: